| Print Story | E-Mail Story | Font Size
Loading ...

Tony Hawk Appearance, Plus we picked 5 winners for free tickets!

**Update:   Vans loved the participation so much, that they gave us 4 extra pairs to give to our commenters.  Check your emails, so we can confirm the winners. :)  Thank you everyone for your participation and honesty.


We have 2 extra tickets to the 2011 Vans Pro-Tec Pool Party.  This is an exclusive event with some of the best Pool Skaters in the business. 

How to Win?

  • Leave a comment (at the bottom of this page), telling us why you want 2 tickets? Thats it!  You can use a twitter, facebook or random login...  Just make sure you have a way for us to get in touch with you.

We'll pick 1 winner who will receive a pair of tickets to watch the events on Saturday May 21st at The Vans Skatepark at the Block in Orange, Ca.

We'll pick a winner at 3pm on Thursday May 19th, 2011. *Rules below

*Update from Vans May 19: Tony Hawk is scheduled to attend the Pro-Tec Pool Party! 

After confirming his entry Tony went on to say, "To be clear: I never said I was retired; the media did. I've been wanting to skate the Pro-tec event for a while, but I was either out of town or hurt over the last few years. To me, the Pool Party event symbolizes how far skating has come, where legends and modern skaters ride together in an iconic pool. Just hoping I can still do my Upland lines..."

Watch Tony and all the Pro-Tec Pool Party shredders on the live webcast! Action begins at 3pm Saturday, May 21st. And be sure to enjoy Chris Nieratko's play by play, color-commentary on Vans' Twitter feed.

The 7th Annual Pro-tec Pool Party presented by Rockstar Energy Drink will have 40 top pros and masters vie for their piece of more than $100,000 in one of the most unforgiving bowls ever built. Held Saturday, May 21st from 3pm to 9pm in the replica Combi Bowl at Vans Skatepark at the Block at Orange, the 2011 Pool Party is wide open with one of the most competitive fields ever in both divisions.

Skaters expected to be at the Event:

Pros – Bucky Lasek (2-Time Defending Champ), Rune Glifberg (’05, ’07, ’08 Winner), Omar Hassan (’06 Winner), Pedro Barros, Bob Burnquist, Alex Perelson, Josh Borden, Lincoln Ueda, Benji Galloway, Nolan Munroe, Ben Raybourne, Zack Miller, Bruno Passos, Nathan Beck, Michael Brookman, Sky Silijeg, Bennett Harada, Matt Boyster, Andy Macdonald, Anthony Furlong and Joshua Rodrigues.

Masters – Steve Caballero (Defending Champ), Chris Miller (’05-’09 Winner), Lance Mountain, Christian Hosoi, Jeff Grosso, Nicky Guerrero, Duane Peters, Sergie Ventura (first Masters appearance),

*Rules:  We'll pick a winner at 3pm on Thursday 5/19/11. Winner will be contact via email.  If the winner doesn't respond by Friday at 11am, we'll pick someone else.  Winner may not substite prize.  Winner will be contacted with entry pass instructions.


See archived 'Lifestyle' stories »

OrangeCounty.com on Facebook